Post Multicultural Literature? I think NOT!

Posted: October 24, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags:

Initial Response to identity-based book awards:

What is the value of a book award? I suppose that depends on who you are, who’s deciding (on the award), what the criteria is for winning, and whether or not you find the book appealing once you’ve read it. In essence, my opinion on a specific group of awards such as Coretta Scott King Award for African-American Literature and the Pura Belpre Award for Hispanic Literature depends on the answers to the aforementioned questions. It all boils downs to individual preferences. This does not mean that I believe these awards are irrelevant, actually they are the quite the opposite. Book lists provided by “groups” that target identity-based literature afford readers the opportunity to read and examine novels/information text that they may otherwise not have been exposed to. If one identifies with a particular race, ethnicity, religion, ect, then a book list that relates to a certain “culture” is significant in that it provides a reader with titles of books that may relate to his or her own experiences.  They are also a valuable resource to consult for teachers or individuals who wish to learn (or teach) about a culture that is different from their own.

After having read the article “Slippery Slopes and Proliferating Prizes,” I can certainly understand why it’s Marc Aronson’s most controversial (and as a result famous) article. Do I feel the same about my initial reaction to the identity-based awards? Absolutely. There were several statements in Aronson’s article that grabbed my attention (actually there were many more than this, but for the sake of the reader, I tried to narrow it down!) and I’ve responded to them accordingly. Multicultural Literacy is something I’ve studied and have implemented into my own classroom. To suggest that we are “post” this is not something I’m ready to buy just yet….

Thoughts and reactions as I read:

Issue one: “…ethnic credentials predetermine the book’s validity” (p.4) ….I would ask…can you write an authentic account of another culture if you’ve never experienced it? If so, how?

He posits that these awards suggest: “Your community, your ethnicity, comes before your talent.” (p. 5). This statement is written without explanation (merely an assumption). I would argue that your experiences within your ethnicity/culture/race contribute to your talent as a writer. They do not have to be mutually exclusive; depending on what subject the writer chooses to write about. In my opinion, our depth of knowledge about a subject inevitably contributes to our ability to write about it well, and with a level of authority.

[Due to these awards] “There is less pressure on the general population to read, understand, appreciate, and develop a fine critical eye for African American literature. If a librarian can always think, “I don’t have to read those books carefully. The Coretta Scott King Award takes care of that.” (p. 5). My response: WHAT? I would be more inclined to read a book that was featured on a prominent awards list! (What happens to movies when they win an Oscar? Profits soar because more people view them!)  As a teacher, I’m going to dissect a book (regardless of its place on a list) for a plethora of reasons, but mainly so I can find things I want to explore with my students.

“The implications that that only blacks can write well about blacks sets up the implication that only they can read well about them too.” (p. 5).   Again, I don’t buy this argument. I just don’t see the correlation. Writing and reading are not one in the same. People may be qualified to write an authentic narrative based on their experiences (including how they identify themselves), but that doesn’t in any way inherently limit the reader base. Perhaps we (identified as “other”) cannot make all of the same connections that someone with a shared experience (of the same culture) can, but that doesn’t mean our ability to read it well is impaired. Can I write well about something that I’ve never experienced? Probably not. Can I read it and make meaning or learn something from reading it? Yes.

“It [the ALA] should focus on diversifying its membership and training its members to appreciate the art and experience of all cultures. The focus should not be on the identity of the creator, which does not tell you anything about the work, but rather on learning how to judge all manner or works on their own terms.” (p. 8).  I do agree with these statements on some level, however, I would ask for suggestions on how to achieve this (short of being immersed in the actual culture). In the past I have exposed my students to diverse cultures through documentaries, guest speakers, research, novels, etc.   If I’m using these materials in hopes that it helps them “appreciate and experience all cultures”, how can I be sure that what I’m using is authentic material? If I these awards lists are not valid, what should I use? How can I validate multicultural material?

The criteria for winning the Belpre award are not solely based on the ethnicity of the author. Yes, the criteria may seem subjective however, I’m hard pressed to find an awards “criteria” list that isn’t.  This doesn’t necessarily undermine the winners’ literary quality.

Question for the Bookhenge Seminar: I am currently reading Aronson’s book,  “Race” which is written in a non-fiction, historical context. I’m curious as to whether or not he’s written a non-fiction book from the perspective of a character outside of his own culture. If so, what were some reactions to the book? Was it considered “authentic?”

Questions for bloggers to consider: What is the true definition of multicultural literacy as it pertains to the ELA classroom:Based on the research that I’ve read there are two ways that scholars approach this topic

A.      Providing students with an opportunity to reach stories with characters from their own backgrounds (cultures)

B.      Providing students with an opportunity with an opportunity to read stories about diverse character (different      races, cultures, disabilities, values, religions,ect)

Source: Aronson, M. (2003). Beyond the pale. (pp. 1-10). Lanham, Maryland: The Scarecrow Press, Inc.

#bookhenge

Comments
  1. Curtis says:

    I think we all realize cultures must speak to wh they are and what is important about their experience. Im finally getting to “Race” so we should talk soon.

  2. abbey1013 says:

    Making students aware of other cultures is what I worry a lot about in my future classes. I want to make sure I go beyond Black History Month and other specific units that are taught once, and then nothing else multicultural is taught again for the year. I remember that I was taught that way and I feel that it’s doing a disservice to the students. Constantly exposing them to multicultural literature is key, and that’s where I think certain awards benefit them. It is the job of the teachers and librarians to introduce these stories, and just like Pinkney said, awards like the CSK Award provide a springboard for the authors, and they also provide one for the librarians and teachers as well.

    • kmw1020 says:

      @ Curtis, I’m excited to present this book to others. I’m wrapping up my reading soon and whether or not we agree on his analysis, I have no doubt that we’ll have much to offer in terms of our discussion and the questions that we raise!

      @Abbey, It’s a worry of mine as well (making sure that the literature I select is inclusive and authentic), however, it sounds like you are already off to a great start in ensuring that your students are exposed to a wide variety of literature! I hope that you will find, as I have, that students are genuinely interested in reading about books that expose them to different cultures and multiple perspectives. The potential for discussions topics on multicultural literature are infinite. In my classroom we’ve discussed the similarities and differences among us, the social/political/environment factors that influence thinking and behavior, as well as the implications for working together in a global society. Beyond all of those things though is the gratification that you’ll get from observing their curiosity and desire to learn about things that are outside of their own experiences. Please keep me posted on how your lessons go and let me know when find great books that you’d recommend!

Leave a comment